Whether you face drunk driving charges currently or you worry about finding yourself in this position at some point in the future, it is essential to go over the penalties for drunk driving. In Montana, you could face a number of serious consequences as a result of a DUI case, and you need to take steps to safeguard your future.
Make sure you understand your options, as well as the different ways in which DUI charges could affect your life.
An overview of drunk driving penalties
According to the Montana State Legislature, you can face serious penalties if charged with drunk driving, even if it is your first offense. A first-time offender could face up to six months behind bars and a fine of as much as $1,000 (this goes up to one year behind bars and a fine of up to $2,000 if a passenger under the age of 16 was in the vehicle).
If charged with drunk driving for a second or third time, the penalties increase, and you could face more time behind bars as well as a steeper fine. For example, the third violation with a young child in the car could lead to over a year behind bars and a fine of up to $10,000.
Other ways drunk driving charges can affect your life
Aside from fines and incarceration, you could lose your driving privileges, have to perform community service and take part in a treatment program. Drunk driving charges could affect your relationships and cause you to lose your job. Make sure you thoroughly review the details of your case and do all you can to protect your future if you currently face drunk driving allegations.